By Carter Brooks

Photo by Marissa Baecker

Team WHL triumphed over the Russians in game one of the annual four-game super series in British Columbia Monday evening. 

Led by Manitoban captains Josh Brook (Moose Jaw Warriors), Cody Glass (Portland Winterhawks) and Connor Dewar (Everett Silvertips), the Canadians proved victorious over their rival Russia Monday night in a close 2-1 win from Kamloops. Toronto's Ian Scott backstopped the Canadians to victory with a 27-save performance. 

2019 NHL Entry Draft prospect Dylan Cozens scored first for the Canadians, who collected a blocked Jett Woo shot and fired the puck past Daniil Tarasov for the game's first goal, 14 minutes in. However, Pavel Shen of the Russians scored less than 30 seconds later, to bring the game back to a tie through one period of play.

The second period featured no scoring, but Canada was able to prevail on a late Jordy Bellerive one-time strike, giving the Canadians a 1-0 series lead, while accumulating all three points for the game. 

Glass put up four shots on net, collecting the Player of the Game Award for Canada in the process, while Woo and Dewar assisted on Cozens' opening strike. Josh Brook finished a +1, Calen Addison picked up a holding minor, while Stelio Mattheos won four of five draws on the night. 

Tuesday will see the two teams reconvene in Vancouver for the second game of four. Puck drop is scheduled for 9:00 P.M. central time. Canada is currently riding an eight-year series winning streak. 

Pin It
Carter Brooks
Author: Carter Brooks
Carter Brooks - Associate Editor of Game On Magazine - is a news writer and sports columnist situated in Winnipeg, MB. On top of reading and writing, coaching hockey is his favourite pastime. Carter can be reached at
More from this author:


Any opinions expressed belong solely to the authors and do not necessarily express the views of the magazine, or of the publishers. All published work is edited for accuracy, style. and clarity. We do accept unsolicited material as long as it refers to athletes, coaches, or volunteers involved in hockey in Manitoba.